how to have one repository for different dbcs in one place

The place for peer-to-peer support for VPM Enterprise 9.1, our latest framework.

how to have one repository for different dbcs in one place

Postby rg400005 » Wed Mar 01, 2017 5:35 am

Hi,
can I have a central sdd with different dbcs as one repository.
Background : I have some apps with different dd's and dbcs.
What I want to do is having different dbcs for the apps but one dictionary for all, because the big picture is having modules with functionality based on other dbcs without copying the projects.

BR Rainer
rg400005
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri May 04, 2012 6:52 am

Re: how to have one repository for different dbcs in one pla

Postby stecenko » Wed Mar 01, 2017 10:53 am

I think you can copy the Promatrix Data Dictionary tables to a common folder and include the path to it in your projects. Just like the common library folder.

Maybe you should try just putting the Data Dictionary tables in the common folder and see what happens.
Richard Stecenko
Interactive Computer Services Inc.
Victoria, British Columbia
204.453.2052
stecenko
 
Posts: 822
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2010 8:06 pm
Location: Saanich, British Columbia

Re: how to have one repository for different dbcs in one pla

Postby rg400005 » Thu Mar 02, 2017 4:45 am

Hi Richard,
the point is the dds have the same name: which one will win ?
But I have found a a way, not perfect, but for the jumpstart it works.

Step 1: copy the 1st container datadir
Step2: append data from the other containers.
Then either do it again, when u have changed dd in the containers.
Or start with this containers but deliver only the containers u need plus this data dictionary with all entries or write some code, which separates the data for the containers u are deploying.

The trick is :
Append only the record which has the key for the other containers.

BR Rainer

Example
[code]
SET DEFAULT TO "C:\Development\TargetDir\DATA"


USE "C:\Development\TargetDir\DATA\sdataaudit"
APPEND FROM "C:\Development\SourceDir\DATA\sdataaudit"
CLOSE DATABASES ALL

USE "C:\Development\TargetDir\DATA\sdataddck"
APPEND FROM "C:\Development\SourceDir\DATA\sdataddck"
CLOSE DATABASES ALL

USE "C:\Development\TargetDir\DATA\sdataddf"
APPEND FROM "C:\Development\SourceDir\DATA\sdataddf"
CLOSE DATABASES ALL

USE "C:\Development\TargetDir\DATA\sdataddfh"
APPEND FROM "C:\Development\SourceDir\DATA\sdataddfh"
CLOSE DATABASES ALL


USE "C:\Development\TargetDir\DATA\sdataddgk"
APPEND FROM "C:\Development\SourceDir\DATA\sdataddgk"
CLOSE DATABASES ALL

USE "C:\Development\TargetDir\DATA\sdataddit"
APPEND FROM "C:\Development\SourceDir\DATA\sdataddit"
CLOSE DATABASES ALL

USE "C:\Development\TargetDir\DATA\sdataddsi"
APPEND FROM "C:\Development\SourceDir\DATA\sdataddsi"
CLOSE DATABASES ALL

USE "C:\Development\TargetDir\DATA\sdataddtv"
APPEND FROM "C:\Development\SourceDir\DATA\sdataddtv"
CLOSE DATABASES ALL

USE "C:\Development\TargetDir\DATA\sdataddd"
APPEND FROM "C:\Development\SourceDir\DATA\sdataddd" FOR "OtherTable" $ CNAME
browse
CLOSE DATABASES ALL





[/code]
rg400005
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri May 04, 2012 6:52 am


Return to VPM Enterprise 9.1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron